Defections: APC Will Not Lose Any Governor Again – Okorocha

On August 2, 2018 21 Comments

Rochas Okorocha, chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC) Governors’ Forum, has said no governor will leave the party again.

This he said after a closed-door meeting between President Muhammadu Buhari and APC governors at the presidential villa yesterday.

Okorocha said the meeting was to deliberate on the defection of two of their governors.

“Two of our colleagues left our party. This is politics, it is unfortunate that they have to go,” the Imo governor said.


“We have 22 states, 53 senators now. Nobody is leaving the party anymore. Those who have left, we are aware that they will leave long ago.

READ ALSO:  2019 Presidency: Why Igbos Should Make More Friends In The North - Ohanaeze

“President Buhari means well and he is willing to fight corruption and you all know if you are fighting corruption, it will fight back.

“This is what’s happening.”

Adams Oshiohmole, APC national chairman also said the governors were on a solidarity visit to President Buhari.

The governors who attended the meeting included Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos and Yahaya Bello of Kogi.

Others were Jubril Bindow of Adamawa, Kashim Shettima of Borno, Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi and Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo, Ogun state governor, Ibikunle Amosun, Simon Lalong of Plateau, Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano and Sani Bello of Niger, Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna, Tanko Almakura of Nasarawa, Godwin Obaseki of Edo and Osun deputy governor, Grace Laoye-Tomori, were also in attendance.

READ ALSO:  Fani-Kayode: The Sinister Plan To Exterminate The Igbo And To Eliminate IPOB

Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara, who is the current chairman of the Governors’ Forum, as well as governors of Bauchi and Yobe states were absent at the meeting.


Comments (21)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




  • Loading...