APC Candidate Wins Bauchi South Senatorial Bye-election

On August 12, 2018 0 Comment

The All Progressive Congress (APC) candidate, Mr Lawal Gumau,has won the Bauchi South Senatorial District By-election, held on Saturday.

Announcing the result in Bauchi on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmed Sarkin-Pagam, said Gumau scored 119,489 votes to defeat eight other contestants, amongst them, the immediate past governor of the state, Mr Isa Yuguda of the Green Party of Nigeria, who polled 33,079 votes.

He said other candidates were Haruna Ayuba of ADC who garnered 1754 Votes; Aminu Tukur of APP who scored 11,717 votes; Usman Hassan of KP with 240 votes and Huseini Umar of NNPP who scored 22,896 votes.

READ ALSO:  Ex-Minister Says 'Jubril In Aso Rock Has Sworn To Deal With Lawmakers Who Booed Him'

The Returning Officer gave the scores of the remaining candidates as Usman Chaledi of PDC, 1203 votes; Ladan Salihu of PDP,50,256 votes,and Mrs Maryam Begel of SDP, 3,800. votes.


He said a total of 256,763 votes were cast, out of which 245,652 were valid and 11,111 invalid.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the by-election was conducted to elect a representative for Bauchi South Senatorial District, sequel to the death of Sen. Ali Wakili on March 17.

With the outcome of the by-election, APC in Bauchi now has only one senator because the other two, Isa Misau and Nazif Gamawa, formerly of the APC, have defected to the PDP.\

READ ALSO:  Dino Melaye Condemns Plateau Killings, Demands Removal Of IGP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




  • Loading...