Speakership: 230 Members-Elect Declare Support For Gbajabiamila

On June 10, 2019 0 Comment

The All Progressives Congress, APC, has disclosed that its candidate for the speakership position in the ninth National Assembly, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila is enjoying massive support from members-elect.

According to the ruling party, 230 members-elect have signed an endorsement register for Gbajabiamila to emerge as the next Speaker of the House of Representatives.

It added that the lawmakers have also endorsed the candidacy of Idris Wase as the Deputy Speaker.


“Less than 48 hours to election for presiding officers of 9th @HouseNGR, abt 230 members-elect have signed endorsement register for @femigbaja as next Speaker. Also,6 top contenders have publicly signed to endorse candidacy of Gbajabiamila & Idris Wase as Speaker & Dep Speaker,” it said.

Recall that as previously reported, the APC formally adopted Senator Ovie Omo-Agege for the position of Deputy Senate President and Hon. Muhammed Idris Wase as Deputy Speaker.

The party had also earlier announced the duo of Senator Ahmed Lawan and Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila as the party’s candidates for the positions of Senate President and Speaker of House Representatives respectively.

Similarly, Chief Femi Fani-Kayode, a chieftain of the Peoples Democratic Party, has also endorsed the candidacy of Femi Gbajabiamila as the next Speaker of the House of Representatives.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





  • Loading...